Part of CLP blog tour:Vivid by Andrea Murray

Today this blog is part of the blog tour with CLP.I have honor to present you Vivid by Andrea Murray.


Title: Vivid
Author: Andrea Murray
Genre: YA,Fantasy-paranormal
Pages: 181
author’s pages: Amazon, GoodReads

Excerpt:
Okay, I’m thinking maybe I can defuse this thing and not appear like a total chicken, but when the blonde stands and pours her energy drink right over Abby’s head, I know how wrong I am.   I tighten my grip on Abby’s upper-arm at the same time she lunges for the girl, and total chaos ensues. 

The blonde and her pal jump up and run around the table toward the safety of the dime squad.  I yank Abby to my chest to keep her from following them while Goliath girl spins me and a damp, squirming Abby around to stare into her pin-cushion face.  She leans right down into my face, less than an inch from actually touching her lip hoop to my forehead. 
I feel her hot, rancid breath on my face, and judging by the smell, she must have had the beans. 
“Trista wants to make sure Two-Ton Thompson didn’t talk you into prom committee.”
“What?  How did you . . . Wow, news travels fast around here.  No, you can tell your ‘boss’ that I’m not joining the committee.”  I can’t believe I am saying this to monster girl without cowering under the table. 
I cannot believe the nerve of Trista. What did she promise this behemoth to play her enforcer?  I thought the dime squad was harmless, annoying, but harmless.  Now, they seem a bigger threat.  Could she have paid this girl to threaten me?  Probably, since it is unlikely that Trista would be able to do anything for her.  In this moment, I realize how far Trista and her crew will go to get what they want and just how far-reaching her control truly is.  If she would stoop to physical violence, what else would she be willing to do? 
“Good ‘cause I’d hate to waste any more of my lunch on messin’ up your face,” says the girl.  Then she pushes me, and since I still have a grip on Abby, we both fall hard on our butts right there in front of the entire school. 
The cafeteria erupts into laughter.  As I look around, I see a few non-laughing faces, mostly on those kids who probably suffer Trista’s “humor” just like me and surprisingly on a few of the faces at the jock table.  I can feel my anger building like lava being forced to the surface while I suffer the humiliation. 

Guest post:

Author Bio:
Andrea Murray has been teaching English for longer than most of her students have been alive.  She has taught everything from junior high language arts to concurrent credit freshman composition. She lives in a very small town in Arkansas with her precocious daughter, energetic son, and racecar-driving husband.  When she isn’t writing or reading novels for her students, she’s probably watching reality television or cheesy science fiction movies.  In addition to Vivid, Andrea has also written Vicious, the sequel to her first novel.   









Andrea will talk about her obsessions when writing and reading:

My Obsessions When Writing and Reading
Andrea
Inaccuracies
I hate inaccuracies in a novel!  I’m one of those people who can’t enjoy a book (or movie) when the details aren’t consistent.  I’ll spend an hour rereading when a detail jumps out as wrong, which is why I prefer ebooks because it’s so much easier to search on an ereader than in a paper copy.  If a writer says a character is sitting, I want to ‘see’ the character stand and walk out before he suddenly appears in another room.  If he’s wearing a green shirt in one sentence, but in the next it’s orange, that bothers me. When the details don’t stay consistent, it really frustrates me.  I try very hard to keep out inconsistencies because that limits reader distraction.
Bad dialogue
It doesn’t matter what genre the novel might be, realistic dialogue is so important.  Dialogue carries a story, especially a love story.  Characters should say things real people would say.  His/Her dialogue doesn’t have to be grammatically correct, but it should match the type of character that he/she is.  I was told by one agent that my protagonist, Vivian, is too smart to be a teenager.  She doesn’t ‘sound like a teenager.’ That upset me.  I wanted Vivian to speak intelligently because—surprise!—she’s intelligent!  In all of her dialogue, I tried to mix her age with her intelligence.  When I wrote the scene where Vivian is in the principal’s office, I patterned that scene off of the many times I’ve seen and heard our principal interact with students.  Trista, the diva, is snotty and hateful every time the reader hears her.  I’ll rewrite dialogue over and over until I can hear the character’s voice in my head and see his/her facial reaction.  If the face doesn’t match the dialogue, I rewrite.
Confusing narration
When I was working on my Masters, I took a class on Post-Modernism.  I don’t remember much about the class, but one thing I do remember discussing is narration.  Many Post-Modernist novelists do creative things with narration, and SO many books now use that shifting narrator, where one chapter is from character A’s point of view and the next is from character B’s.  That can get very confusing for young adult readers.  Don’t get me wrong.  Some writers are exceptional at the revolving-door narrator, but when a writer shifts too many times, it’s easy to become so lost in trying to figure out the narrator that the reader gets confused and stops reading.  Interestingly enough, I’ve done a little shifting myself in the sequel to Vivid.  Hope I don’t regret it!
Paranormal Literature
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the paranormal genre!  It is my guilty pleasure.  Sometimes, I will buy an adult paranormal romance, grab some chocolate and chips, send my kids to my mother’s for the day, and just read!  The more paranormal the better!  For some reason, it ‘centers me’ (my niece’s phrase).  I easily get obsessed with a paranormal series and devour it. 


Buy the Book!
I hope you enjoy!
3 thoughts on “Part of CLP blog tour:Vivid by Andrea Murray”

Leave a Reply

