Sunkissed by Carys Jones-guest post and excerpt

Title:Sunkissed
Author: Carys Jones
Genre: YA,Paranormal
Pages: 276

author’s page: http://www.carys-jones.com/

buy this book here:Amazon


Summary from GoodReads:

     Dawn Summers is dying. It’s 1853 and as the seventeen year old continues to fade away she has visions of the father she never knew, urging her to fight for her life.
     In the small village of Fandova the only medical care is in the form of the mysterious Dr. Moralus who has a known penchant for bloodletting. Thomas, Dawn’s fiancé, is warned against inviting his intervention...


I have honor to host Carys Jones,she was kind to share with us theme:
                           Where I write

      I write all my books on my trusty pink laptop in the study of my house. My laptop isn’t connected to the internet so when I sit up there I am solely focused on my work.
As you can see, my desk is covered in lots of girly trinkets. I have up programs from all the ballets I have been to with my Mom, we usually go once a year. I have a Little Mermaid snow globe as its one of my favourite Disney movies and a picture in the Minnie/Daisy frame of my beloved cat Pepper who sadly passed away two years ago. Behind the picture of Pepper is a picture of me and all my friends on my wedding day.
There is also a Hello Kitty clock which I’ve had for years and has followed me from my parents’ home to my own house now. I’ve always loved anything Hello Kitty. When this picture was taken I’d finished working for the day, when I’m working there is always a large glass of water on the pink coaster!
There are more pictures scattered around on the walls but they are out of the shot. I try and make my writing space really personal, my own little area where I am surrounded by everything that I love and find familiar. It means that when I’m stuck, or writing something particular emotional, I can look up and smile when I see either a picture or a memory of somewhere I’ve been.

On the far left you can see a load of notes from the story I’m currently working on. What you can’t see are all my scribbling’s written all over it as I’m forever changing my mind and altering things from my original plan! 



Excerpt:

But now the words resurfaced and Dawn tried to swat them away from her thoughts as though they were a fly disturbing her space. She didn’t want to think that she had become her father, but she had no choice. Perhaps he had faced similar challenges. Had he been…
‘Vampire?’ Dawn spoke the word aloud as she mulled over the theory. But it made no sense. Vampires were hunters, killers, not lovers. She doubted they could even reproduce.
Whatever her father had been, she was about to follow his example which she had always been encouraged to ignore. She turned her head briefly towards her house where Thomas lay sleeping on the floor, her hair still dancing madly around her head resembling a black halo.
Leaving Fandova meant that she was severing the last contact she had. Decisively, Dawn now looked to the East, her eyes wide with both fear and purpose. She stood away from the wall of the well and then she ran. In less than a second she was gone and only the dust from her exit was evidence that she had ever been there.
For three whole days and nights Dawn ran, never once looking back. She knew that whatever happened, Thomas must never find her.


Leave a Reply

