Interview with Ross Ponderson





I have honor to do interview with the author Ross Ponderson.

Ross Ponderson

child.of.privilege@gmail.com
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23123410-child-of-privilege
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Child-of-Privilege/441583685981864
Twitter: https://twitter.com/RossPonderson



Interview:

1.Tell us something about “Child of Privilege” that we don’t know.Back one day in the mid-1990’s, I was browsing a newspaper’s society page.  What caught my eye was a picture of a group of debutantes attending some fundraising ball.  They were all perfectly made up, wearing elegant formal gowns, and smiling for the camera.  For some reason, I started wondering about them: their families, their private lives, if they were as happy as they appeared, how they handled adversity, and if they could survive life in the paycheck-to-paycheck world.  One idea triggered another and another and another, and “Child of Privilege” was born. 

2.Who is your favourite character all the time?
The lead character of the novel “Mister Roberts” by Thomas Heggen.  Lieutenant Doug Roberts was a naval officer aboard a broken-down cargo vessel operating in the backwaters of the South Pacific during World War II.  He was driven by one dream: to be in combat.  But a crew that needed him, a captain who hated him, and the miserable, boring life aboard that miserable, boring ship kept him away from the front lines.  His fellow officers and the entire crew loved him, and secretly made it possible for Roberts to transfer off the ship and take part in the combat in which he was ultimately killed.  It is an endearing story packed with lovable characters.  I can’t count the number of times I’ve re-read and enjoyed that novel.  

3. What was the hardest thing in the way of writing “Child of Privilege”?
Believability and credibility.  I wanted the characters to be colorful, quirky, and interesting.  I struggled constantly to avoid making Dana too “nice,” Richard too evil, Maggie too much “window dressing” as Richard snidely described her, and Reavis Macklin too … yucky.  I wanted the story to flow well, be engaging, and keep readers’ interest without it sounding like “Perils of Paulene.”   

4.What are you currently working on?
Marketing and promotion.  I’ve written very little since “Child’s” release.  I’ve toyed with a number of different concepts and ideas for a 2nd novel, but nothing has met all the requirements that could drive me back to the computer.  Hopefully my next novel is out there somewhere, just waiting for me to discover it.
5.How do you celebrate a book release? 
I really didn’t celebrate the release of “Child of Privilege” at all.  After days of multiple proofreads, formatting, research, some more final edits and touch-ups, and uploading to Amazon, I simply took a couple of days completely away from writing issues.  Then my focus became marketing and promotion where it has been ever since the August release.

6.What kind of books do you read in your spare time?Actually, I’m reading mostly nonfiction at this point in my life.  It may sound silly, but reading someone else’s novel today saddens me because I think about how that author has achieved what I’ve been unable to accomplish thus far: to land an agent, a traditional publishing contract with a known house, and a parade of fat royalty checks.  But I enjoy biographies, a little true crime sometimes, and those infamous “tell all” books.  Inquiring minds want to know!

4 thoughts on “Interview with Ross Ponderson”

Leave a Reply

